GC Girls Basketball: Kerens, Frost and Dawson players earn postseason honors

    Kerens sophomore Myliah Lincoln was named the District 19-2A Sixth Man of the Year, and the LadyCats and Frost Lady Polar Bears saw several players earn postseason honors on the 19-2A All-District girls basketball team.

    Dawson’s Jacie Henderson and Alexis Valenzuela were named to the District 18-2A All-District first-team and Dawson’s Hailey Tyra, Payton Woodall and Jordan Smith earned second-team honors in 18-2A after leading the Lady Bulldogs all season. Jasmin Ruiz was named to the honorable mention list.

    Myliah Lincoln was the only girl from the Golden Circle to earn a superlative on the 18-2A or 19-2A all-district teams. She was a vital part of the LadyCats’ success this season as one of five sophomore who saw a lot of playing time, and helped Kerens reach the playoffs.

    Mya Lincoln, another sophomore, was named to the 19-2A first-team, and sophomore Nakia Dunn was named to the second-team. Kamiya Haynes, Kerens’ only senior, led the LadyCats for four seasons and was named to the 19-2A second-team.

    Frost’s Kennah Kennedy, a senior who stars in every sport at Frost, earned District 19-2A first-team honors after leading the Lady Polar Bears in just about everything this season. Frost’s Karlie Scott earned second-team honors.

    Frost’s Haddi Montgomery and Katelyn Worley were named to the honorable mention list, and Kerens’ Olivia Franson and Nia Brown were named to the honorable mention list for the LadyCats.

    Several girls earned Academic All-District honors, including Mya Lincoln, Brown and Emilee Burleson from Kerens and Kennedy, Scott, and Montgomery from Frost.

    Frost had total of 10 players make the Academic All-District team. Sydney Woods, Kinsley Fuller, Marlene Melendez, Amy Melendez, Evelyn Melendez, Juanita Perez and Yuritzi Perez were all Academic All-District players.